Paul Harris Awards


The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation.

Rotary established the recognition in 1957 to encourage and show appreciation for substantial contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only program, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships.

The first Paul Harris Fellows included past RI Director Allison G. Brush, who served during the 1937-38 Rotary year, and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F. Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs. Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs. Harry L. Jones was the second, and one of only five people recognized for contributions actually made in that inaugural year.

The number of Paul Harris Fellows reached the 1 million mark in 2006, including the following from our club:

Peter Ashenhurst
Jay Baker
Al Bessey (x2)
Dennis Birley 
Elizabeth (Liz) Bouwmeester
Dean Brombal
Brian Butcher
Bill Cairns
Sean Carragher
Doug Cameron
Gary Cole
Don Collins-Wright
Donald Daggett 
Kristen Danson
Ken Denholm
Kathleen Dick 
Jim Dippel
Mike Doersam
Ron Dumbrell
Linda Fagg
Brian Fischer
Allan Fox
Steven Glithero
Paul Goetz
Robert Green
Mike Jennings (x2)
Stan Jones
David Kinder
Julie Kinder
Wally Little
Bob Lovell
Jeff Matyas
Gerry Menezes (x2)
David Mitten (x2)
Mike Neyers
Glen Nixon
Joy O'Donnell
Anita Olney
Larry Olney
Jim Ross
Charlene Schiedel
Fred Schiedel
Anna Shepherd
Ken Slade
Brian Smith 
Dick Spencer
Louis Sponder
Monty Steenson
Dave Thomas
Anthony Tudisco
Laureen Van Groningen
Jan Pieter Van Hazel
Paul Witmer
Stephen Witteveen
Keith Wright

Rotarians of the Year

Our Club began this tradition in 1999 for the 1998/99 Rotary year. Each year the President will have the option of recognizing a "Rotarian of the Year" in recognition of his/her efforts during the year. Past "Rotarians of the Year" recipients include:
98-99 - Ron Dumbrell         
00-01 - Isabel Tavares           
01-02 - Dick Spencer
02-03 - Joy O'Donnell & Carol Buss
03-04 - Dennis Birley
04-05 - Gerry Menezes & Stephen Witteveen
05-06 - Bill Cairns
06-07 - Monica Gunn
07-08 - Brian Smith
08-09 - Kathi Dick
09-10 - Brian Smith, Dick Spencer & Joy O'Donnell
10-11 - Bill Cairns
11-12 - Jim Dippel
12-13 - Dean Brombal
13-14 - Mike Jennings
14-15 - Dave Thomas
15-16 - Jody Moore
16-17 - Paul Witmer
17-18 - Laureen Van Groningen
18-19 - Stephen Witteveen
20-21 - Gerry Menezes
21-22 - Sean Carragher, Dave Thomas, Fred Schiedel, Laureen Van Groningen & Stephen Witteveen.